Kindness Unexpected

It’s been a few months since I begun to work four-days-a-week. The change wasn’t something I sought out for, but rather it happened coincidently. I have been enjoying the additional day off by catching up on few things, shopping, and sometimes, simply relaxing. It was always my intention to make a productive use of the day. Adjusting to the new weekly routine however, had taken its time. But for today, I had a plan.

When you have emails, text messages and letters- all telling you that your car’s MOT is due, you know not to delay for any further. So I made my way to the garage, left the car for testing and prayed zuhr at the masjid. Then made my way to the library for much anticipated studies.

You’re probably thinking… what has all these got to do with kindness?

Your wait is over.

So here I was sitting at the Idea Stores with my laptop at front, notes on my left and right, overseeing a busy Commercial Road on a beautiful sunny day. After sometime passed, I got up to get some water from a nearby water dispenser which was visible from my right. However, I found no cups near the dispenser. As a first timer at that library, I looked around to see if I could see any staff so perhaps I could ask them. I found no one on that floor, so walked back to my desk and continued with study.

A short while after, a young girl – possibly of a secondary school age – who was sitting two desks away from me on the left, suddenly brought some water on a plastic cup. With a smile on her face, she gently said “I noticed you were looking for water, so I got some for you”. I was surprised and impressed by her gesture of kindness! I further asked her where she found the cup; she said they were kept in another room. I thanked her graciously, and she went back to her desk.

The story however didn’t end just there. A little later, as she was about to leave, she stood next to me and offered a piece of her remaining Ferrero Rocher chocolate. This time, I was lost for words! Kindness is not all lost. In a world where iGeneration is the dominating force, this girl’s expression of selflessness and service to others has truly touched my heart and restored my faith in humanity.

Only from the heart can you touch the sky. — Rumi

8 thoughts on “Kindness Unexpected

Add yours

  1. Only the kind one who can notice the kindness !

    it was really kind of the youth girl what she did for you. that shows clearly her sens of empathy
    You also were kind of being able to notice her gesture of kindness
    and it s really kind of you sharing with us a such touching and meaningful experience. Thank you !

    Yeah it s true that Only from the heart can you touch the sky

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑